Although agriculture is one of the nation's most hazardousindustries, about half of all states allow agricultural employersto provide little or no workers' compensation coverage for migrantand seasonal farmworkers.

Many states do not require agricultural employers to provideworkers' compensation coverage for migrant and seasonalfarmworkers. The states are almost evenly split between those thatprovide all or most migrant and seasonal farmworkers with workers'compensation coverage and those that require little or no coveragefor this workforce.

Specifically, only 13 states, the District of Columbia, PuertoRico and the Virgin Islands require employers to cover seasonalagricultural workers to the same extent as all other workers. Thesejurisdictions are: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, theDistrict of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Massachusetts, Minnesota,Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, Oregon, Puerto Rico andthe Virgin Islands. In an additional 13 states (including Floridaand New York), only small farmers are exempt from providingcoverage to their migrant and seasonal farmworkers. Moreover,employers who hire legal temporary foreign workers under the H-2Avisa program are required to provide workers' compensationinsurance or equivalent benefits to their employees.

Continue Reading for Free

Register and gain access to:

  • Breaking insurance news and analysis, on-site and via our newsletters and custom alerts
  • Weekly Insurance Speak podcast featuring exclusive interviews with industry leaders
  • Educational webcasts, white papers, and ebooks from industry thought leaders
  • Critical converage of the employee benefits and financial advisory markets on our other ALM sites, BenefitsPRO and ThinkAdvisor

© 2024 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.