Dealing with a fire damage emergency and the claim process is an emotionally trying time for a policyholder, so a claim adjuster must be sensitive to the personal and emotional aspects these situations.

It’s imperative to recognize that a homeowner goes through five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. The claim adjuster must be prepared to respond appropriately to each situation. Preparing the homeowner for the restoration process, working closely with the insurance provider to ensure quality and timely work, and maintaining a constant flow of communication throughout the process are critical steps.

Claim adjusters must recognize that every loss is significant to the people dealing with it, and take the proper steps to restore the home to pre-loss condition.

Want to continue reading?
Become a Free
PropertyCasualty360 Digital Reader.


  • All news coverage, best practices, and in-depth analysis.
  • Educational webcasts, resources from industry leaders, and informative newsletters.
  • Other award-winning websites including and

Already have an account?



Join PropertyCasualty360

Don’t miss crucial news and insights you need to make informed decisions for your P&C insurance business. Join now!

  • Unlimited access to - your roadmap to thriving in a disrupted environment
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including, and
  • Exclusive discounts on PropertyCasualty360, National Underwriter, Claims and ALM events

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join PropertyCasualty360

Copyright © 2022 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.