This year’s winners of the fifth annual “Awards for Excellence in Workers’ Compensation Risk Management” are Gary Eastes, risk and benefits manager for the City of Knoxville; Michael P. Murphy, manager, global property and casualty insurance, Kennametal; and Bruce Jones, director, insurance and Texas Plan Administrator, Community Health Systems (CHS).

For the first time ever, not only has a public risk manager won an award, but Eastes also has been named winner of the Risk Manager Champion award.

This year’s winners were chosen for their loss control, return-to-work programs, employee advocacy, performance and leadership.

Want to continue reading?
Become a Free
PropertyCasualty360 Digital Reader.


  • All news coverage, best practices, and in-depth analysis.
  • Educational webcasts, resources from industry leaders, and informative newsletters.
  • Other award-winning websites including and

Already have an account?


© 2023 ALM Global, LLC, All Rights Reserved. Request academic re-use from All other uses, submit a request to [email protected]. For more information visit Asset & Logo Licensing.



Join PropertyCasualty360

Don’t miss crucial news and insights you need to make informed decisions for your P&C insurance business. Join now!

  • Unlimited access to - your roadmap to thriving in a disrupted environment
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including, and
  • Exclusive discounts on PropertyCasualty360, National Underwriter, Claims and ALM events

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join PropertyCasualty360

Copyright © 2023 ALM Global, LLC. All Rights Reserved.